I could not begin to tell you what a quiet moment is like in my home! One husband, 3 little ones, almost 3 years of marriage and  4 years of teaching five and six-year olds. Yea right! Even if my house is quiet, my mind isn’t. The truth is, the art of “finding quiet” is not lost. For centuries, (I’m sure), moms from all walks of life have found ways to scrape out a moment in their busy lives, where the hustle and bustle of LIFE cannot interfere…  at least for a little while. I’m not an expert at this. I probably never will be. Being a new wife and mom, I get a lot, and I mean A LOT, of advice, both solicited and unsolicited. (I’m learning how to solicit advice from people I trust and respect so as not to drown in my own thoughts. It’s hard though LOL). I’ve heard “Well, you’re young. You have to figure these things out before you get too old and stuck in your ways.” Or my favorite intro to advice, ” Well you know what I did…”.   It can all be extremely overwhelming. Most of the time I feel like I was better off before I heard what someone else has to say. Sometimes I don’t know what to feel. What I can say is this: if you don’t make time for some kind of “quiet”, it will be forced upon you. Don’t wait until you feel swallowed up by the back and forth of your daily responsibilities, or blow up on a loved one, or begin to skimp on the really important stuff, before you realize that “Hey! I think I need a moment!”. Trust me. I’ve been there. It’s not cute boo! Spend  your quiet time in a way that makes you feel your best absolute best. I love writing in a journal about what is currently happening in my life (which is the primary reason for starting a blog). As a lover of God, I spend a great deal of time in purposeful, intentional, alone time with the Lord. I cannot stress enough how beneficial it is for me to include Jesus in my “me time”. He refreshes and recharges me in a way that a shopping spree just can’t! However you choose to spend your time in “quiet”, remember this: while taking care of family, work and other super important stuff, you’re not a single bit of good to anyone if you are working on “empty”.  You are your best when you are AT YOUR BEST. Taking a moment for yourself is not selfish, or self-centered. Anybody who says that it is, is trippin!  Get your self, centered honey! Your life will begin to flourish and the people you love and care about will flourish as well. That’s what all good mommies and wives and everything in between want right? Thought so!

Feel free to leave comments! I know there are a lot of awesome women (and men) that can add some nuggets to the conversation!

Leave a Reply

