Hello readers! This week and the weeks to come, I will be doing something that I’ve never done before in the hopes  that you will be encouraged, get your hope back, and get that old thing back! I am excited to share this segment of my life with you in a way that is open, honest, real and transparent. I don’t want to keep you in suspense too much longer, so let’s get right into it!

In one of my earlier posts for this blog entitled “Getting that Old Thang Back!”, I opened up a  little bit about the difficulties of remaining at your best as a woman, while also trying to be a wife, mother and all around decent human being. At that time, I was speaking from my own personal struggles in life. I never want to speak about something that I myself cannot relate to. I believe that God gave us all the gift of being able to empathize with one another when we are going through the struggles of this life. Sometimes, in order for you to get through a particularly difficult area in your life, you will have to open up and share  your struggles with someone. We often think that sharing is only for venting about your hardship or finding some level of peace for yourself as you deal with whatever happens to be going on your life. In truth, I believe that we share our issues with one another because people benefit a great deal from knowing that someone they rub elbows  with, is in the trenches just like they are. You are not alone! Someone else is  barely maintaining their sanity on a day-to-day basis just like you. By choosing to share these very vulnerable and often painful parts of ourselves with others, we promote healing and growth in ourselves and others. Your gift of  transparency could be just what the doctor ordered for someone you have yet to share your story with.

With that being said, I’d like to share with you today, and in the days to come, the stories that make me who I am. I am taking my own challenge of “getting that old thang back”! That post was for me! I was the audience and it took me until a few days ago to realize I really needed to take my own advice. Beautiful woman, that mom drowning in the duties of taking care of small children day in and day out, is me. The hopeful wife who’s committed to her marriage in the face of adversity and rocky places is me. The woman who’s completely drowning in the roles she’s been called to and has lost herself, is me!  I am that woman, that wife, that mom! So today, I have challenged myself to doing something about it. For the rest of the summer, I will be purposefully making plans outside of the house at least once or twice a week. It doesn’t have to be an extravagant event, and I can be alone as long as I do it! You’re probably how this is going to help at all. I am too! I honestly don’t have all the answers, but wise woman spoke truth to me and encouraged me to take control of a situation that seems to be spiraling out of control. I’ve read a lot of material about marriage and family and keeping it fresh and restoring your relationship. If you’re following this blog, you may be looking for the same type of relevant information to enlighten your own personal situation. Hear me on this: no amount of studying or reading, no matter how relevant, true or Godly the wisdom and knowledge found in it is, will ever replace hitting the pavement and putting those principles into practice! You can speak change all day long. It’s not until you BECOME change that you will begin to see a difference in your life. I’m even going so far as to making sure I began to dress and even smell like I am proud of who I am. Yes, that means taking a bit more effort each and every time I leave my home. I am willing to do what it takes to get more out of life than what I’m currently getting out of it.  I want to look like who fearfully and wonderfully made woman who God says that I am! I believe that what I am choosing to do in the natural, will stir something up in the spirit realm. Who knows what a little makeup and perfume will cause to happen in Heaven!

As excited as I am to walk down this road, I can’t tell you how nerve-wracking it is not to know what exactly will come from my efforts. I don’t know if things around me will stay the same, if they will change slightly, or if it will be a complete turn around. None of that is assured or promised. All I know is that I CAN CHANGE. I CAN BE DIFFERENT. I CAN GROW. Every day of this journey I will document what happens with a post, beginning today. I’ll tell you what I did, and what I got out of the experience, and I’ll talk about the people who I share these experiences with. I’ll be honest and open about what is happening around me as I take these steps, be they sweet or a little painful. I know that what I am choosing to do will be a bit scary and will stretch me in areas that I did not know I needed to be stretched, but it’s worth it! God getting the glory out of my life is totally worth it! Someone else coming to know Jesus in a very personal, very real way, is absolutely worth it to me!

I encourage you to put yourself out there,  and do something different and exciting on a consistent basis. Maybe God isn’t calling you to the same kind of journey that he’s called me to, but he calls us all higher and desires that we all become more like him. That process comes at a high cost to the flesh, but it jump starts sanctification and spiritual growth. We are not perfect, and we cannot avoid trials and trouble. Trouble is ceaseless for anybody who is still in the land of the living! All we can do as believers,  is choose to allow these things to ignite something in us that promotes the glory of God in our lives and points others towards that glory. For those unmarried, child-less women, single mothers, or those married without children, God is calling you higher too! Whether you are content with your status in life, or like me, your soul is crying out for more, I encourage you to spend some time in prayer and meditation,  and find out what you need to do to get that old thing back and become as radiant as you once were in Christ.We can never get too comfortable, and until we reach heaven, we can always reach for an opportunity to progress forward.  This journey is for all of us, and I pray that as you walk through it with me, you will be encouraged, strengthened, and pushed into the greatness that is buried deep inside of you! You are an exceptional work of art! You are so much more than a role or a title. You may not feel like it when you’re up to your elbows in dirty laundry, or in your prayer closet yet again about a wayward child or distant spouse, but you are more than all of that!  You are God’s master piece and you were made on purpose, and by design, in the image of God Almighty!  Once you and I began to walk out this greatness,  I believe we will begin to see a difference in our husbands, our children, and the entire world. If nothing else, we will radiate the glory of God in the earth. There is no better time to do this than now, and no better day to start this great expedition than today!

Leave a Reply

