I spent the great majority of today fine-tuning this blog and making it look pretty for lack of a better word. So far I’m pleased, but I’m sure it’s not done for good. Today I just want to encourage you. My goal is always to give you what I believe the Lord has given me for the day. He absolutely gave me exactly what I needed and I know he will do the same thing for you. 

In the thick of war, there are often moments that the opposing sides are given the opportunity to rest and retreat. Wars aren’t fought and won in a day. They are always composed of many battles, each one strategic in its purpose. The same can be side of my journey, and yours as well. There is no doubt that we are in a fight, should we choose to engage in one, for the souls of the ones we are fighting for. That’s the war and we will be fighting until Jesus returns as he promised he would. However there are the everyday battles that we face in conjunction with this grand war. It’s the fighting that we do in our homes. on the job, and in our social circles. Today, it may be the fight for your sanity. Tomorrow it may the fight for your peace of mind and your thoughts. Right now, you may be fighting temptation or struggling to fully walk in the Spirit. Whatever your fight, however often you are tested in a particular area, we look forward to the days of rest. We appreciate the moments, hours, days and weeks (if you’re blessed like that), that go by without the struggle being so real! I know I do!

Today was one of those days for me. I learned that God may not cause your battles to completely dissipate and it may seem like the devil is unrelenting in his fight to tear you away from God, but know that he is always ready and willing to send you relief so that you recover and rest. Today there was no struggle, no battle of my mind or anxiety welling up in my chest threatening to cause tears to well up in my eyes. Today I was able to laugh, talk to and interact with loved ones with very little opposition. I was in the house ALL day long too! I left once to run an errand, but other than that I was present and accounted for. Not only that, but I didn’t feel the need to leave. As a matter of fact, my home, was warmer than it has been, for me, in a very long time. The house even looked different. I knew that God had sent his sweet spirit to gently remind me that he would never leave me or forsake me. In that moment, and even now as I write, I could and I can sense his tangible presence. 

cc33a07ce97c96862db30221bd2059ae

None of this changes anything. I don’t want to misconstrue  the severity of this journey or its necessity. What I am sure of is the fact that our Heavenly Father never puts more on us than we can bear. He does care that we get weary and promises not only that we will reap if we don’t faint, but that he will also provide a way of escape. God will divinely carve out time for you to recharge and reboot during battle. He has already engaged in this fight and already knows the outcome. He promises that whatever we are dealing with will work out for our good and according to his purposes! There is no doubt about that! However God is so wise and all-knowing, that he gives us the opportunity to experience his rest so that we are properly prepared for the next battle. Understand that moments when the storm is still are not excuses for you to let your guard down. The enemy does not play fair; he will attack you the moment you become unaware. The reality is we are in a fight that we will be in until we reach Heaven. All we can do is trust that we are not fighting alone, that there is a purpose to each and every battle, that God will give us rest to refresh us, and ultimately that he has already won the victory. Rest up women of God! You have another battle ahead of you! 

Leave a Reply

